Leadership and Governance

The Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is comprised of twelve to eighteen NNM parents. The Head of School, Director of Finance and Facilities, and two staff members also serve on the board as non-voting members.

Near North's Board of Directors provides guidance and direction for the school, oversees budgeting to ensure financial stability and ensures that the school maintains its focus on its educational mission.

The overarching work of the NNM Board is to hold the school in trust for future generations. The primary work of the Board is to promote the school mission, vision and values; focus on long range and strategic issues; select, hire and evaluate the Head of School; and be accountable for the School’s financial stability. The Board is not involved in the daily operations of the school.

The composition of the NNM board is representative of our school community and each member possesses professional experience and talent to support the work of the board. Parents who are interested in joining the Board of Directors or a board committee should contact the Advancement Office for more information. Interviews for board positions are conducted in February and early March.

Individuals on the board are current parents and possess a wide range of experience and talents and also serve on Board Committees. Members of the NNM community are welcome to attend open board meetings. Meetings are held at least four times a year, typically on Monday evenings, and notification of such meetings are listed in the This Week and on the school calendar.


Sarah Berghorst
Mary Beyer
Frederic Boyer
Lee Clark
Gary Cloudman
Shubhra Jain
Ali Khan
Caroline Ko
Kerl LaJeune
Ariel Litvin
Sachin Master
Kim Nemirow
Erik Nordby
Rina Patel
Lesley Pinckney
Tony Sutton
Matt Zweifel


Gary Cloudman, President
Ali Khan, Co-Vice President
Kerl LaJeune, Co-Vice President
Frederic Boyer, Treasurer
Shubhra Jain, Secretary

Administrative Representative

Brian Corley, Ex-Officio
(Non-voting member)

Administrative Support

Robert Hart, Finance & Operations Director
Marcela Gomez Sixto, Advisor
April Jean-Baptiste, Advisor

Standing Committees


Annual Committees

TSA Investment
Strategic Plan